Skip to content

Center for Gifted Studies at WKU to Host Students from Russell County

Bowling Green, Ky. – The Center for Gifted Studies at WKU announces 34 school districts in Kentucky and Tennessee participated in Project Launch Plus, a federal Javits grant this past school year. Eligible sixth-grade students from the following districts and schools were offered an above-level test, and research-based informational emails for the families of high-ability learners. Due to the research design, half of the participants came to a weeklong summer residential camp at WKU as well as participated in online experiences:


  • Allen County: Allen County Intermediate Center
  • Barren County: Eastern Elementary
  • Bowling Green Independent: Bowling Green Junior High
  • Burgin Independent: Burgin Independent
  • Butler County: Butler County Middle
  • Caverna Independent: Caverna Middle
  • Cheatham County, TN: Harpeth Middle
  • Cloverport Independent: Frederick Fraize Middle
  • Crittenden County: Crittenden County Elementary
  • Cumberland County: Cumberland County Middle
  • Dawson Springs Independent: Dawson Springs Elementary
  • East Bernstadt Independent: East Bernstadt Independent School
  • Elizabethtown Independent: TK Stone Middle
  • Fayette County: Bryan Station Middle
  • Franklin County: Bondurant Middle
  • Grayson County: Grayson County Middle
  • Green County: Green County Middle
  • Henderson County: Henderson S. Middle
  • Jefferson County: Crosby Middle, Grace James Academy, Meyzeek Middle, Thomas Jefferson, and Newburg Middle
  • Logan County: Adairville, Auburn, and Olmstead Schools
  • Marion County: Marion County Middle
  • Marshall County: South Marshall Middle
  • Meade County: Payneville Elementary
  • Oldham County: East Oldham Middle
  • Owensboro Independent: Owensboro Middle, Owensboro Innovation Middle
  • Paducah Independent: Paducah Middle
  • Russell County: Russell County Middle
  • Russellville Independent: Russellville Middle
  • Shelby County: Shelby County East Middle
  • Simpson County: Franklin-Simpson Middle
  • Taylor County: Taylor County Middle
  • Union County: Union County Middle
  • Warren County: Alvaton Elementary, Bristow Elementary, Cumberland Trace Elementary, Jennings Creek Elementary, Natcher Elementary, and Lost River Elementary
  • Webster County: Clay Elementary, Dixon Elementary, and Providence Elementary


Project Launch Plus is a federal grant focusing on talent development for young people of high ability who have had few opportunities to develop their talents and who live within three hours of Bowling Green, Kentucky. The grant covers the cost of all above-level assessments, score results and interpretations, residential camps, and all online experiences. The Center for Gifted Studies at WKU is partnering with Johns Hopkins University to bring this opportunity to students and educators. For more information, visit


For more information about Project Launch Plus or to find out how students from your school may participate, contact Jennifer Wilson at (270) 745-2742 or

Leave a Comment